Whole30 Day 25 (with 6 days to go and counting)

If you’d told me on Day 2 or 3 that the rest of the days would speed by in a blur, I’d probably have bitten your head off. If it didn’t have any non-Whole30-compliant ingredients added, that is. But actually, it did fly by. By week 2 I felt “normal,” by week 3…downright energetic. Now? With 6 days to go and reintroduction on the horizon, I don’t actually feel a huge urgency to reintroduce much. Here’s my rough plan.

I’ll actually be out of town for work next week, so I won’t be able to truly engage in this until I return, so that will be more like day 33 (next Friday). First…I will weigh in, because I’m dying to know if the scale moved. Not that that was the main purpose of this, but it’s certainly a big part of my motivation to eat clean, get healthy, and look better. As far as food category reintros, I’m blazing my own trail a bit rather than following one of the prescribed Whole30 orders of introduction, simply because I want to hold off a bit before I try anything with gluten. My priorities are as follows:

  • Day 33: Wine (I’m not a lush or anything but I do enjoy a glass of wine now and then, and this is also supporting my husband’s desire to step into beer (alcohol, then grains, then gluten). Since he did this whole thing with me, it only seems fair.
  • Day 36: Non-gluten grains (again, to support the beer journey for the husband)–I’m thinking rice, for me, and maybe corn. Could probably do a great corn, rice and Kalua pig (no, not kahlua, the drink) mashup for dinner which would be perfect since that day is a Monday and I can get the pork shoulder in the slow cooker on Sunday mid-day. He’s also going to try non-gluten beer.
  • Day 39: This is where the husband and I diverge. He’s going to try his favorite beer (Yuengling, because, well, Pennsylvania), but I’m eager to try legumes, since my go-to healthy snack is cucumbers and hummus. I am really hoping this one goes well.
  • Day 42: Dairy. Now and then I really do love cheese. I just have to remember the brakes. I also suspect I may have a sensitivity here, so if I’m going to be let down, better to see that after I can drown my sorrows in a glass of wine (see day 33 above).
  • Day 45: Nope. Nothing. I don’t have any immediate plans to introduce gluten right now. My sister did a cleanse of her own and when she tried gluten her ears turned bright red…And since I know gluten is doing absolutely nothing good for me, it’s likely to cause me to overindulge, and I’m not actually craving anything with it right now (bread, pasta, etc.), I’m going to leave this out of the mix until I see a reallllllly good reason to add it in. Essentially, I’m heeding this reminder from the Whole30 peeps:

Reminder: If you don’t miss a particular food or drink that you know makes you less healthy, don’t bother to reintroduce it. Not missing tofu, black beans, cottage cheese, or brown rice? With evidence pointing towards these foods making you less healthy, there’s no reason whatsoever to add them back into your diet. Only reintroduce those foods that you suspect you’ll really want to include back into your diet once in a while, and leave the rest happily behind.

A note about sugar reintroduction, straight from the proverbial horse’s mouth:

Yes, you’ll likely get some added sugar in many of your “experimental” foods—that’s really hard to avoid.If you do choose a reintroduction food with lots of sugar—say, a Starbucks grande Caramel Frappuccino (with a whopping 64 grams!) with whole milk—you’ll have to deal with the dairy + sugar consequences all at once. Chances are, however, you’ll know intuitively what to attribute to which ingredient—digestive issues are generally dairy-driven, while energy fluctuations, cravings, and mood swings are probably sugar-related. However, some side effects, like skin breakouts, may be the result of the sugar, or the dairy, or the combination of both.

Stay tuned for an update probably the end of next week when the reintroduction has commenced and I am squealing with glee because the scale loves me (that’s optimism for you).

3 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 25 (with 6 days to go and counting)

  1. Pingback: Collision of tangles | ZenHenna

  2. Pingback: OMIGOD, it’s Whole30 day 30!!!!! | Cari's Raw & Random Thoughts

  3. Pingback: TWELVE.  | Cari's Raw & Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

