Yo-da-man and Day 17

I may have mentioned once or twice that I have this other blog, ZenHenna, where I post all my Zentangle and Henna artwork, thoughts, ideas, etc. (and I also teach classes if anyone’s interested). So this week has been a challenge in that there is something-every-single-godforsaken-evening after work. Oh how I want a day off. And yet.

Yoda Zentangle Drawing

Yo-Da-Man: Zentangle Challenge

Meet Yo-Da-Man. So I thought I’d share this challenge I did (I do them most weeks) with Yoda, since the challenge was to use a particular tangle and attempt to use a Star Wars theme. (Confession: I am not a Star Wars person, but I don’t back down from a challenge).

On a Whole30 note, I’m on day 17 now and VERY happy to be on the “counting down” side of the 30 days. The funny thing is, I don’t really crave what I’m not eating anymore and don’t really plan to add much back in on a regular basis, but I still look forward to having some room to try a few treats. I do feel pretty good. I slept well last night (despite it feeling pretty warm and suffering the night before…note to self: showering before bed when it’s hot and stick out all day is a big win), I have significantly more energy during the day, and although my allergies are still a huge factor, I feel like I’m winning that battle one day at a time.

Last night I managed to get home from work early, make a big batch of spaghetti squash and meat sauce (though the kids insisted on pasta for theirs…baby steps), and sent the boys off to Dairy Queen for the obligatory post-school-concert (1 of 2) treat since I knew my resolve would be thin. Non-scale victories all around (and I have NOT stepped on the scale, which is also a win, truth be told, given that I’m not sure if I’ve lost any weight and really really hope I have).

The biggest challenge upcoming is Mother’s Day on Sunday, which I am hosting, so at least I can control the menu. I think I said that in my last post, but whatevs.

OK then, off to work at Big Blue, then concert number 2 of 2 at Thing 2’s middle school, then later, rinse, repeat…

Happy Hump Day!

Leave a Reply

