Reverb10: New Name (Nah.)

December 23 – New Name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why? (Author: Becca Wilcott)

I have loved playing this game since I was a little girl. Mostly I wanted my name to be Andrea, because I wanted to be my sister. Not be LIKE her, actually BE here. Truth is, she is still my hero but her name doesn’t suit me. I don’t look like an Andrea. Or a Cari. Or a Carolyn (which is my given name). In French class in high school we had to pick French names: I rebelled against “Caroline” mostly because I despised the way Ms. Polsky the evil French teacher said it in her high-pitched lilt and went with Monique (a name that could not be any more wrong for me). Of course I’ve had other names: Mom, Mommy, Honey, Sweetheart, and on not-so-good days I’m sure I’ve been called other names not fit for a G-rated blog.

If I were to introduce myself to a stranger with a new name, what would I want that name to convey? Strength, independence, intelligence, worldliness, kindness, honesty, integrity… tall orders for a mere name. Can a name do all that? I’m thinking…no, no it can’t. The name comes to take on the persona of its bearer, wouldn’t you agree? So, in the end if given the chance to introduce myself to a stranger, I think I would have to go with the one I already have and hope that along with it comes all of the positive qualities I hope they will see in me.

Leave a Reply

