Reverb10: Friendship

December 16 – Friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst? (Author: Martha Mihalick)

I am truly blessed with incredible friends. Some have been friends since Kindergarten, others from high school, college, previous jobs, karate, random connections. My friends span generations, races, religions and beliefs. Each has a special place in my world and influences me in a different way. To choose how just one friend has changed me or my perspective would be a disservice to everyone else who touched my life in this year. Honestly, the one thing that stands out for me this year is not a positive memory but rather one that leaves me feeling sad and confused, and I am not quite ready to write about it in detail. It is important to note, however, that I refuse to let this disappointment color my view of the world, of people or of friendship in general. Not all friendships are meant to be, or meant to be for a lifetime, and that makes me value those that withstand the test of time, the trials of daily life and the chaos of reality even more. Perhaps that is the perspective I was meant to gain from that experience and that alone is valuable enough for me.

Leave a Reply

