Reverb10: 5 minutes

December 15 – 5 Minutes. Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010. (Author: Patti Digh)

I tried, really tried, to find inspiration in this prompt but everything I’ve tried to write sounded trite, contrived, stilted… My family had some major milestones this year — my sons both earning their junior black belts, my older son’s (henceforth to be known as Thing 1) Bar Mitzvah, and some other more personal struggles tackled with grace and dignity. It would take five minutes to write about each of these and somehow writing them in this context doesn’t capture the magic of the moments. But I’ve already phoned in one or two prompts in this project and I didn’t want to do that again. So instead I’m going to make a list of little things I’d like to remember since the big things are so obvious. As a nod to Mark Dykeman and his inspiring Thoughtwrestling blog series, I’ll list 11 to lean into 2011.

  1. The way my younger son’s (Thing 2) face looks when I first wake him up.
  2. My youngest cat deciding my head is a great place to sleep and purr.
  3. My older son (Thing 1) devouring books like they’re candy.
  4. The way my dog runs a “victory lap” after he “goes.”
  5. My perfectly clean bedroom after a monster cleaning session lasting 3 days.
  6. Thing 1 and Thing 2 laughing – often – with abandon.
  7. Even a mundane day on the job – still just happy to be employed at a time when so many others are still struggling.
  8. Karate – simple moments attempting to find some grace in my clumsiness and spending time with seriously great people.
  9. Time spent with good friends, old and new.
  10. Thing 2 building Lego sets all by himself and then playing with them with all of the sound effects and no self-consciousness.
  11. Cuddling with the boys and reading together whenever we can.

This isn’t my best post, by far, but it is sincere and that has to count for something!

Leave a Reply

