Reverb10: Action – Daily Writing Prompts

December 13 – Action. When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step? (Author: Scott Belsky)

Anything you put on your “to do someday” list that doesn’t have an action plan inevitably drops to the bottom of the priority list, and typically these are the things that move us forward, that spark creativity, that make a difference in the mundane daily grind. I have a huge list of things like this, but one of the main ones is to flex my writing muscles on a daily basis and in this endeavor, the action is THIS, writing in this blog for this purpose. What happens when it’s January 1? Is it enough to hope that I’ve developed a habit after a month of consistent writing? Probably not. I don’t yet have a “big idea” to write about, but I do believe that many small ideas compiled on a consistent basis give rise to that big idea. My action plan is this: continue writing every day. To do so, I’ll need a daily prompt and since Reverb10 will be a memory, I’ll need to have my own prompts. Action plan item #1: Develop a daily prompt calendar on a monthly basis. I’ll aim to have January’s complete by December 30 and will even publish it in the hope that perhaps I might inspire one other person to write.

3 thoughts on “Reverb10: Action – Daily Writing Prompts

  1. i always read your blog when it comes to my email and i hope you truly post that calendar. i have a writing class that ends in a week and i was scared i wouldnt keep it up if i had to rely on myself to think of something to write about. how bad is that when its my favorite thing to do. 🙂
    i will start a blog inspired by your calendar until it is a habit such as breathing.
    i am inspired! and it sounds fun actually!

  2. Jeanie, I’m delighted and now definitely publicly committed to my action plan 🙂 I will absolutely post it and I’m glad I could help! Thanks for the return favor, it will definitely be fun! Can you post a link to your blog?

  3. Hi Cari,
    I am so glad you are doing this, I think it will be fun too. I will set up a blog and get back to you with the link. I will have to think of a title…
    I will post as soon as I finish setting up sometime this week!
    I have been enjoying your blog for a while now!

Leave a Reply

