Intentions

I discovered this blog, A Boundless World, via a Twitter post and was reminded of Jack Canfield’s “The Success Principles” as well as a few other books I’ve read. I’m a believer in the power of intention (followed by action, of course, but intention is a critical first step). Semantically speaking, intentions are different than wants. Wanting is passive, intending is more of an active assertion to the universe of future action.

So, in the spirit of my happiness project and personal growth journey, I decided to blog today (NOW) about a few intentions that spring to mind spontaneously. No doubt I will think of more later, but I have accept the imperfection of an off-the-cuff brain dump in order to get started.

  1. I intend to pursue my happiness project actively by reading and/or writing something that contributes to this journey each day.
  2. I intend to invest time in learning more about “stimulus-belief-response” and the Option Process (dialogue) so that I can uncover my beliefs and choose responses that serve me best.
  3. I intend to thoughtfully create my professional life around projects and people that are positively oriented so that I am making meaningful contributions to society in my work.
  4. I intend to be mindful of my attitude in my interactions with others, taking time to breathe and think when conversing with my family, friends, colleagues and acquaintances.
  5. I intend to let go of regret and live only in the present while reasonably planning for the future.
  6. I intend to invest in my health by eating for sustenance and exercising with joy.
  7. I intend to spend time developing my hobbies (photography and jewelry making) and seek opportunities to grow them in ways that bring personal enjoyment and, when possible, additional income.
  8. I intend to always act with integrity and authenticity.

This is a good start. More to come.

Leave a Reply

