Apex Hides the Hurt: Book Review

Apex Hides the Hurt: A Novel Apex Hides the Hurt: A Novel by Colson Whitehead

My review


rating: 3 of 5 stars
I really really wanted to LOVE this book. The premise is original, the characters are well-developed, and the snarky sarcasm should have been a huge win for me. Unfortunately, and maybe it’s just my current state of mind, the main character was utterly unlikeable. He draws the reader into his vortex of cynicism in a depressing sort of way. Maybe it takes a happier person not to be dragged down by it. In any case, I did LIKE the book, wasn’t delighted with the ending and I could think of several others that might have been preferable to me. But again, that’s just MY opinion based on MY state of mind. I could see how others might LOVE or HATE it. Interesting quick read.

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

