WSJ blogger now says: Poverty Tour for Rich Falls Flat

I feel vindicated. I mean, I now know thanks to my very bright and well-read niece, that poverty tours for the rich are nothing new. But they still horrify me. Now today, this WSJ blogger reports that the backlash after the article first posted led to criticism that led to jeopardizing the event as three of the top French chefs boycotted the event. They eventually pulled it off and raised $50K for the gawked-at-village (remember, the event cost its attendees $300K a head). I’m sure that money made a difference for the gawkees, but I still find the whole concept rather sickening.

Leave a Reply

