Family Lore

I learned recently that my mother’s grandmother, who I suppose would be my great grandmother, was killed when she was hit by a car in Philadelphia sometime in the mid-1920s.

I have a dozen questions now, none of which I can have answered unless there’s microfiche news somewhere and I have the patience and time to look for it, which I don’t.

How many cars were even on the road back then? How fast could they go? Was this the first accident of its kind? Was it big news? Was there car insurance? Was the person who hit her at fault? Drunk? What kind of laws were on the books around vehicular homicide back then?

Leave a Reply

