Choosing Happiness or Plucking Treasures

I have been trying to embrace Barry Neil Kaufman’s Happiness is a Choice outlook ever since my sister, who has a thousand more reasons than I do to be unhappy, introduced me to it. In many ways, I have embraced his brand of self-empowerment and used it to find happiness in my life where I once saw despair.

Today I saw this quote, and thought it an interesting alternative viewpoint. I’m not sure if I want to accept it or not, but I thought enough of it to save it and post it here:

“Happiness is always a by-product. It is probably a matter of temperament, and for anything I know it may be glandular. But it is not something that can be demanded from life, and if you are not happy you had better stop worrying about it and see what treasures you can pluck from your own brand of unhappiness.” – Robertson Davies

Is the plucking of treasures from unhappiness the same as choosing happiness? Or is it embracing unhappiness for what you can learn from it? I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

